May 25, 2018
Share this article

The De Beers English Olympiad is a national English competition that draws more than 7000 entries each year. The competition is organized jointly by the Grahamstown Foundation and the South African Council for English Education. The syllabus and examination questions offer stimulation not found within the school syllabus. They call for acute critical ability and sharp writing skills, but they also seek to draw out creative thinking and writing – aptitudes so central to our humanness. The theme for the exam was “War and Peace”and the anthology is entitled We will remember them.  This year’s content was a collection of poetry from war times. 

We would like to congratulate Raine Chandler on receiving a GOLD award! Well done this is a phenomenal result. 

Herewith a summary of achievements:






Raine Chandler

Caleb Billings

Dominique Behrmann

Kirsten Stuart


Kerryn Howarth

Fabienne Bruno

Temogo Leballo


Nathan Rhoodie

Gina Kolisko

Natalie Manyonda


Bhindiya Hira

Tess Babalola

Darius Steinmetz


Marchella Bruno

Jordan Mujakachi

Storm Swanepoel


Nonthando Madziwanyika

Nandipha Sithole



Wandile Mokhele

Sibusile Shabalala



Kyle Lawrence

Thando Zwane



Joshua Butler

Nimi Nwanze



Cameron Dodge

Kieran Rens



Ahlaam Motara

Saniya Sudan



Khiara Hira

Joshua DeJager



Laura Nyathi

Tracey Gwizo




Jessica Sutton




Angelica Goncalves




Michaela Taggart



Affiliated with:

Recent Posts


Help fight the spread:
Visit www.sacoronavirus.co.za